Winning Writers and Writing by Members

At the annual Arkansas Writers Contest, Galaxy member won the following awards:

Barbara Shepherd: Jim Barton Memorial Award, 2nd place; Pioneer Prose Contest, 2nd HM

Shelley Anne Richter: Erdel Family Award, 3rd place; Scott Settlement Award, 3rd place; Pioneer Prose Contest, 1st HM; You Got My Goat Contest, 2nd HM;  Jim Barton Memorial, 2nd HM; Heidelberger Award, 3rd HM.

Lisbeth L. McCarty: Animal Perspective Award, 1st place; Gimme the Creeps, 1st place; Heidelberger Memorial Award, 3rd place; Who Dunnit Award, 1st HM; Scott Settlement Award, 2nd HM; Peggy Vining Memorial Award, 3rd HM.


Barbara Shepherd won 2nd Place at Poetry Society of Oklahoma National Poetry Day for “Bouquet of Friends." She submitted art to the ARTSPACE at Untitled art gallery in OKC’s Automobile Alley. They hung all four of her pieces in their Annual Postcard Perspectives Exhibit: Fiber Art - “Christmas Crazy,” Photograph – “Bark-No Bite,” and two Paper Marbling – “End Papers_1” and “End Papers_2.” She also participated in NaNoWriMo for the first time (but only logged 40,048 words in 30 days).

At the OKC 2020 Writers' Contest, members of the Norman Galaxy of Writers won prizes as follows:

Barbara Shepherd:
Humor, 3rd place
Inspirational, 3rd place
Nostalgia, Honorable Mention
Flash Fiction, Honorable Mention
Book, Honorable Mention

Shelley Ann Richter:
Inspirational, 1st place
Feature Article, Honorable Mention

Mary Flowers Brannon:
Feature Article, Honorable Mention

Lisbeth L. McCarty:
Essay, 3rd place
Nostalgia, Honorable Mention

BARBARA SHEPHERD won the following awards at WriterCon 2020: 1st Place in Inspirational for “Wings of Blue,” HM in Non-Fiction for “How to Turn Ninety in Style,” 1st Runner-Up in Writing for Young Readers for “The Angler,” and 1st Place in Writing for Young Readers for “Hear Me on the Radio.” Awards from Arkansas White County Creative Writers 2020 Contest include: 1st Place in Children’s Short Story for “The Noisy Peacock” and 1st Place in Poetry for “New Shoes,” 3rd Place in Fantasy Short Story for “Shopping for Balzar” and 3rd Place in Short Story (by an assigned painting) “Saturday Shopping,” and five HMs: Poetry – “Bouquet of Friends,” Children’s Poetry – “Bedtime,” Children’s Story - “Hear Me on the Radio,” Sci-Fi Short Story – “Zianna’s New Tribe,” and Short Story - “Fractured.” 

Congratulations to Kathleen Park on the publication of her novel.

Congratulations to the winners in the 2020 Arkansas Writing Contest:
Lisbeth L. McCarty:
1st place, Pioneer Poetry, Ever So Gently
3rd place, Whodunnit, That's All I'm Saying
2nd Honorable Mention, Prose Contest, Lumbering Love
2nd Honorable Mention, Essay Contest, The Magic of Music
3rd Honorable Mention, Gimme the Creeps, Scary Scarab
3rd Honorable Mention, A Touch of Magic, Conjuring Up Trouble

Congratulations to the Norman Galaxy of Writers' winners in the 2020 Oklahoma Writers' Federation, Inc., contest as follows:

Barbara Shepherd:
3rd HM, Short-Short Story: Fractured
1st HM, Poetry, Unrhymed Short: Incarcerated
3rd place, Play/Film/TV Script: The Cover-Up
2nd place, Short-Short Story, Juvenile: Hear Me on the Radio
1st place, Novel (Mystery or Suspense/Thriller): Just Call Me Jill

Shelley-Anne Richter:
2nd HM: A Dog Named Wide Load
1st HM, Juvenile Short Story: Star Sign
1st place, Play/Film/Tv Script: A View of Death
1st place, Rhymed Poetry Long: The Fish That Got Away

Lisbeth L. McCarty:
1st HM, Prose Humor: Love, Judge Zimmerman
3rd place, Blog: Oxford Commas for Sale
2nd place, Inspirational Article: Sweet World Beyond
1st place, Feature Article: What's The Appeal?

Mary Flowers Brannon:
3rd place, Flash Fiction: Red Lips, Spike Heels, and Attitude


Congratulations to Barbara Shepherd for being the 2019 Poetry Society Poet Laureate!

Congratulations to the members of the Norman Galaxy of Writers who won in the 2019 Arkansas Writing Contest:

Shelley Anne Richter:
HM Short Story, The Mail Carrier's Route
HM Short Story, Bring on the Parade
HM Poetry, Bards to the Rescue 
HM Inspirational, Saving Bridgett
2nd Place, Short Story, Bessie 
2nd Place, Mystery Short Story, The Dark Inside

Lisbeth L. McCarty:
3rd HM, Gimme the Creeps Short Story, A Ghost Has No Flesh and Bones
2nd HM, Who-Dunnit Short Story, Off the Menu
1st Place, Prose Award, I Am Liza


Congratulations to members of the Norman Galaxy of Writers who won at the 2019 OWFI annual contest:

Barbara Shepherd:

2nd Honorable Mention, Rhymed Long Poetry, Only in Oklahoma
1st Honorable Mention, Juvenile Short Story Fiction, The Boy who Wanted to Wash Dishes
1st Honorable Mention, Young Adult Novel, Web of Deceit
3rd place, Play, Film, or TV Script, Lady Trail Boss

Lisbeth L. McCarty:
1st Honorable Mention, Non-Fiction Featured Article, When Genius Goes Wrong
2nd place, Inspirational Article, Dreams of Sandy
3rd place, Short-Short Adult Story, Peppers and Salt

1st place, Rhymed Long Poetry, Heads Bowed, Eyes Down