List of Contest Winners

2017 Contest Winners:

Bonnie Speer Crème de la Crème Award: Barbara Shepherd for Short Story, "Octavia's Secret"

Short Story:
  • 1st, Barbara Shepherd, "Octavia's Secret"
  • 2nd, Susan Cogan, "Monster for Hire"
  • 3rd, Charles R. Richter II, "The Invisible Cop"
Nostalgic Essay:
  • 1st, Mary Spaulding, "My Very Most Unforgettable Character"
  • 2nd, Keith Eaton, "Remembering Paul and Jackie . . . Rack 'Em LA 1967
  • 3rd, tie, Ariel White, "Sympathetic Feelings"
  • 3rd, tie, Lisbeth L. McCarty, "While We Whiled"
  • Honorable Mention, Mary Flowers Brannon, "Could He Do It?"
Children's Fiction:
  • 1st, Shelley Anne Richter, "Bigfoot and the Latch-Key Kid"
  • 2nd, Barbara Shepherd, "Dinosaur Hunters"
  • 3rd, Lisbeth L. McCarty, "Wesley Whistled While Working"
Rhymed Poetry:
  • 1st, Lisbeth L. McCarty, "Heads Bowed, Eyes Down"
  • 2nd, Salome L. Vaughn, "Heistin's Light of Love"
  • 3rd, Mary Flowers Brannon, "Bathing Suit"
Unrhymed Poetry:
  • 1st, Stephen Flowers, "A Clutter of Clouds"
  • 2nd, Ariel White, "Clear, Crisp December"
  • 3rd, Mary Flowers Brannon, "Devil Nun at St. Joseph's"
  • 1st, Shelley Anne Richter, "A Dog Named Wide-Load"
  • 2nd, Barbara Shepherd, "William Scott Receives Quilt of Valor"
  • 3rd, Mary Spaulding, "Get Your Mammograms"
  • Honorable Mention, Charles R. Richter II, "Robin Redbreast Family"

2016 Contest Winners:

Bonnie Speer Crème de la Crème Award: Barbara Shepherd for Short Story, "Daffodil Waltz"

Nostalgic Essay:
  • 1st, Barbara Shepherd: "Fighting Wildfire"
  • 2nd, W. Michael Whaley: "Tale of Two Elders"
  • 3rd, Skye Brannon Lucking: "Midnight Potato Salad"
Short Story:
  • 1st, Barbara Shepherd: "Daffodil Waltz"
  • 2nd, Mary Flowers Brannon: "But, Son, You Don't Need a Pierced Ear"
  • 3rd, Rebel Sowell: "Whispering Trees"
Rhymed Poetry:
  • 1st, Shelley Ann Richter: "Suppers on the Farm"
  • 2nd, Mary Flowers Brannon: "Ode to a Football Widow"
  • 3rd, Lisbeth L. McCarty: "Fumbling at Struggling with Self"
Unrhymed Poetry:
  • 1st, Shelley Anne Richter: "Invested Artistry"
  • 2nd, Mary Flowers Brannon: "All's Roswell that Emails"
  • 3rd, Barbara Shepherd: "The Journey"
  • 1st, Barbara Shepherd: "How to Turn Ninety in Style"
  • 2nd, Skye Brannon Lucking: "Bag Man"
  • 3rd, Mary Payne: "Mapping the Quest for Adoption Records"
Children's Fiction:
  • 1st, Barbara Shepherd: "Granny's Gift"
  • 2nd, Lisbeth L. McCarty: "Allie Ate an Alligator"
  • 3rd, Skye Brannon Lucking: "My Earliest Fine Art Memory"

2015 Contest Winners:

Bonnie Speer Crème de la Crème Award: Sylvia Forbes for Nostalgic Essay, "Tales from the Swamp"

Nostalgic Essay:
  • 1st, Sylvia Forbes: "Tales from the Swamp"
  • 2nd, Keith Eaton: "Friends Across Time"
  • 3rd, Lisbeth L. McCarty: "My Sister's Life as a Taco"
Short Story:
  • 1st, Barbara Shepherd: "Ride the River"
  • 2nd, Shelley Ann Richter: "The Five Claws of the Dragon"
  • 3rd, Sherry Bynum: "Death Came Too Soon"
Rhymed Poetry:
  • 1st, Sylvia Forbes: "A Gardener's Woes"
  • 2nd, Shelley Ann Richter: "Wilderness Adventure"
  • 3rd, Barbara Shepherd: "Falling 101"
  • Honorable Mention, Skye Brannon Lucking: "Lies"
Unrhymed Poetry:
  • 1st, Barbara Shepherd: "Power of a River Stone"
  • 2nd, Shelley Ann Richter: "Looking up Heroes"
  • 3rd, Lisbeth L. McCarty: "Cool, Calm, and Detected"
  • 1st Honorable Mention, Mary Flowers Brannon: "The Devil Nun:
  • 2nd Honorable Mention, Skye Brannon Lucking: "The Decision"
  • 1st, Lisbeth L. McCarty: "The Church of No People"
  • 2nd, Shelley Anne Richter: "The Devil's Worship"
  • 3rd, Sylvia Forbes: "Out for an Afternoon Stroll"
Children's Fiction:
  • 1st, Mary Payne: "Lonely Lilly Needs a Friend"
  • 2nd, Lisbeth L. McCarty: "A Ghost Has No Flesh and Bones"
  • 3rd, Shelley Anne Richter: "Echo"
2014 Norman Galaxy Contest Winners

Rhymed Poetry:
1st Place: Romance by Neal Huffaker
2nd Place: Poet on the Prairie by Barbara Shepherd
3rd Place: Reflections by Mary Flowers Brannon

Unrhymed Poetry:
1st Place: Memories by Skye Brannon Lucking
2nd Place: Springtime by Jean Stover
3rd Place: Spellbound by Shelley Anne Richter
Honorable Mention: Halloween by Neal Huffaker
Honorable Mention: The Note by Mary Flowers Brannon
Honorable Mention: Auntie’s Temper by Barbara Shepherd

Non-fiction Article:    
1st Place: Purple Elephant by Skye Brannon Lucking
2nd Place: Claudia Potter, Medicine Woman by Barbara Shepherd
3rd Place: Do Adopted Children Grow Up? by Mary Payne
Honorable Mention: Christmas in March by Mary Flowers Brannon

Nostalgic Essay:
1st Place: Into Darkness by Neil Huffaker
2nd Place: Grief Relief by Shelley Anne Richter
3rd Place: Remembering Paul and Jackie by Keith Eaton
Honorable Mention: Writing with One Wing by Barbara Shepherd
Honorable Mention: My Very Most Unforgettable Character by Mary A. Spaulding
Honorable Mention: Little Sister Tagalong by Jean Stover
Honorable Mention: Laughing Gas and the Tornado by Skye Brannon Lucking
Honorable Mention: Could He Do it? by Mary Flowers Brannon

Children’s Fiction:
1st Place: Hear Me on the Radio by Barbara Shepherd
2nd Place: The Spunky Tenderfoot by Neal Huffacker
3rd Place: A Lottery Ticket for Lionel by Shelley Anne Richter
Honorable Mention: The Other Twin by Mary Flowers Brannon
Honorable Mention: Lessons for Lyncoya by Mary Payne

Short Story:
1st Place: Mystery without Mozart by Susan Brassfield Cogan
2nd Place: The Portrait Painter by Barbara Shepherd
3rd Place: Granny Thistle by Shelley Ann Richter
Honorable Mention: The Indomitable Dentist by Neal Huffacker

The Bonnie Speer Creme de la Creme Winner:

Into Darkness by Neal Huffaker